Author Topic: Everyone is against it except for me :-) :-) :-)  (Read 697 times)

Offline keyboard

Everyone is against it except for me :-) :-) :-)
« on: February 16, 2017, 12:48:56 PM »
I am new to this budgeting concept software ( Financier/yNAB/etc ) .  I like the Concept except for one area that really bothers me .  "Transfers"

I have brought this up before but was always told not to do it this way 
    " I have instructed the Bank to transfer $2.00 to my savings account every time I use the Debit Card"

I am being stubborn about this and cannot understand why I cannot do a simple transaction like just moving money around without "Categorizing" ...  I can understand "Giving money a Job", and like the rule.       But what I do not understand is when I do a "Transfer", why cannot it just be a "Transfer".  All I want to to, is to tell "Financier' that I am only moving money from one account to the other account. 

Obviously, I do not understand Developing programming but I do have to ask......

Am I the only one that would really like to have this option ?

Thanks for listening
Ron
Go for the 7 Ball  !!!!!!!

www.createsongstyles.com

Offline Joel

Re: Everyone is against it except for me :-) :-) :-)
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 01:22:56 PM »
Your budget reflects all money in your on-budget accounts. Your categories define the purpose, not the account location.

When you move money between on-budget accounts, you do not enter a category on the transfer because it is like moving money from your front pocket to your back pocket.

The balances in off-budget accounts are not reflected in your budget. Typically, these accounts consist of debt that you are paying down or assets that don't affect your day-to-day (i.e. home value and investments). When you transfer money to an off-budget account, the money must leave your budget.